Central Statistics Office Ireland

Skip navigation |

HomeStatisticsDatabasesReleases and PublicationsCensusSurveys and MethodologyStudents Corner



2006 Garda Boundaries

Print Icon
Print Page
Change size of text  



An Garda Siochána, for administrative purposes, divide the State into 3 levels of geographical areas:

6 Regions (Northern, Southern, Eastern, Western, South Eastern,                   and Dublin Metropolitan Area)

25 Divisions

109 Districts

The composition of these areas is unique to An Garda Siochána and obeys the following hierarchical structure: districts are combined to produce divisions, and divisions combined to produce regions.


The graphic files available for download contains a boundary for each of these structures and relates to the boundary that was in place at the time of Census 2006. These boundaries are for general information purposes only and are under constant review by An Garda Siochána.


Click on the links below (3 downloads for each boundary) or alternatively the 3 files can be downloaded in the zip file:

2006 Census Garda Areas:

garda_boundaries.dbf (9KB)

garda_boundaries.shp (33 MB)

garda_boundaries.shx (2KB)


garda_boundaries.zip (26 MB)



The ESRI Shape (SHP) file format is a vector format created by the Environmental System Research Institute. SHP files support point, multi-point, polygon, polyline and multi-patches.

This file format contains three files for each boundary:
Main file: *.shp
Index file: *.shx
DBase file: *.dbf

The three files must be downloaded. Most GIS applications can read SHP files.

Central Statistics Office, Skehard Road, Cork, Ireland.
Tel: 353-21-4535000 | Fax: 353-21-4535555 | e-mail: information@cso.ie
Contact Census : Tel: 353-1-8951460 | e-mail: census@cso.ie